Horses & Pastries

12742593_10208253494805952_6964095260434205056_n
Ashford Farm

I spent most of my day on a horse farm. That’s something I’d love to say every day, but this farm was not just any farm it was Ashford Stud, Coolmore Stud’s American farm. The most famous new resident to the internationally famous facility is none other than American Pharoah 2015 Triple Crown and Grand Slam winner…and I got to meet him!

12717729_10208252993513420_645596800018038267_n
AP and Me!

As someone who’s been around horses for nearly 10 years now, I’ll go ahead and admit that meeting horses does not phase me as much as it used to. Meeting horses with the caliber like Pharoah is like meeting a four-legged celebrity, it was one of those awe-inspiring moments that you kind of have to step back and just admire what the horse is like. He’s the horse that has singlehandedly (or by hoof) helped promote the racing industry all by winning the Triple Crown, the first to do so in 37 years. He topped off his career by winning the 2015 Breeder’s Cup Classic making him the first horse in history to win the Grand Slam of horse racing. (Don’t worry, I’m going to pretend the Travers Stakes never happened, AP.)

It’s sort of funny to me because while everyone is fawning, I was just

12742444_10208253480765601_4080904550544043064_n
Literally asked him if he wanted a selfie. I forget horses can’t talk…

happy to be there, taking it all in.  As fascinated by Pharoah as I was, I was also pretty fascinated by how beautiful the barn in which he lives looked. It was amazing! The entire farm was picturesque and beautiful. There were other horses there at Ashford Stud that are also celebrities in their own right. Uncle Mo, a freshman sire who won the 2010 Breeder’s Cup Juvenile, has a few kids on the Road to the Kentucky Derby this year. He also has the most Triple Crown nominated progeny this year as well with about 19. Fusaichi Pegasus — or FuPeg — the 2000 Kentucky Derby winner resides on the farm. I love him because he’s the first horse I ever won money on. $18 in a Kid’s Jackpot at a family Derby Party. Thanks, FuPeg. My favorite horse ever, Thunder Gultch who won the 1995 Kentucky Derby is one of the oldest horses (if not the oldest horse) there. At 24 years old he still looked great and had a bit of sass which I found kind of humorous for him being an ‘old man’. After I got back to Louisville and pondered the trip, I can easily say that Coolmore Stud is on my list of places I would love to work after graduation.

When I got home I had one task in mind: BAKING CAKES. After a long day of horses, you’d probably want to sit and relax, but nope. I had to bake cakes for #Freberg16 potluck. I chose to dig deep in my baking repertoire and find something simple. But being simple is boring, so I took inspiration from my favorite TV show, Great British Bake12715204_10208254650434842_7433551508005393152_n Off, and made it fancy.

I chose to make a Chocolate Strawberry Devil’s Food Cake:

Cake

1 Box of Betty Crokers Chocolate Devil’s Food Cake Mix (aka the best)
3 Eggs
1 Cup of water
1/3 Cup of Vegetable Oil

Mix well for 10 minutes

Bake at 350 degrees for approximately 15 minutes. Check if cake(s) is done with a toothpick.

 

Other Ingredients

Fresh Strawberries and Blueberries
Smucker’s Strawberry topping
Pilsberry Vanilla Icing (Heated for 15 seconds to soften)

With my other ingredients, I put the vanilla icing and strawberry filling on top of the larger cakes as the “glue” to hold it all together. On top of the smaller sponge, I used vanilla icing as, again, “glue” to place the strawberries and blueberries on top. The strawberry topping came into play again as a topping to the icing, drizzled down the side of the cakes.

I hope every in class enjoys them!

xo,

name

Leave a Reply

