CommTech: Video Games

I will admit, I am not a gamer. Not at all. When I was younger, I used to play on my older brother’s Playstation, but I was never serious about any of the games that he had. I played a lot of Sims, NASCAR racing games, and Mario Kart. I never realized that these games can be very serious business for professional gamers. There are tournaments all over the country were these gamers come together to compete and see who is the best. There is even a degree you can attain from Full Sail Univeristy for Video Game Design. The video game world is pretty serious and I had no clue…but then again, I’m not a gamer!

According to Nielsen the average U.S. gamer age 13 or older spent 6.3 hours a week playing video games during 2013. That’s up from 5.6 hours in 2012, which was up from 5.1 hours in 2011 http://time.com/120476/nielsen-video-games/

Since the video game industry is growing, that number is bound to rise! But do I see it becoming an industry as big as mobile and TV? No. I don’t think so. It’s very niche and I believe that that prohibits it from booming, per say.

A big problem with video games is the content. There have been many controversial topics on what is ok for video games to include and that goes for NC-17 and rated R content. Many critics say that children should not be playing games like Call of Duty because of the ridiculous amount of violence. Also, games like Grand Theft Auto include sexual content, cursing, and criminal activity. With this rhetoric looming over the industries head and with very little change, I see this as what is really keeping the industry from growing.

Video games have been around in our country for a long time. People love them. People hate them. But are they going to be the next best thing that you’ll want to go out and get a degree in? No. It’s a nice hobby, not a career.

 

Leave a Reply

