Hootsuite & Me

At first, I was a little weary about Hootsuite. I had had Hootsuite before when I was in high school and I hardly used it. I always used the Twitter app and every now and then Tweetdeck because Twitter’s app used to be awful. When I sat down in Dr. Freberg’s Social Media class and she said we’d be taking the exam to become Hootsuite Professional’s I had no clue it was even a thing! Now that I’ve taken the online course and gotten myself certified, I decided to do a little review!

First of all, the exam is not as hard as I thought it would be. Even though he mentions reading materials, the actual content you read for taking the exam is actually presented in short, easy to digest videos that conveniently have  closed captions (Sat in the lobby of Strickler Hall without headphones when I watched the videos and took the exam!) Each video is no longer than three minutes so you can get through many of them in no time at all.

That’s another great thing about the exam: it doesn’t take too long to finish! It took me about an hour to read and watch the videos and take the exam. So if you’re in a time crunch, it’s doable. You can also come and go from the reading material, but keep in mind you only get an hour to take the exam. You get to retake the exam as many times as you need, so there’s no rush or stress involved!

I really like the idea of having a certification for a specific platform. I think it adds a special touch to my resume that says I am sufficient in social media platforms, so sufficient that I can use a platform that manages multiple feeds all on one screen! It’s a valuable tool to have that can set you apart from the rest of the job seekers. If you get the chance to take the exam, give it a go! Invest in your future and career!

xo,

name

Leave a Reply

