Reflecting on #Freberg16

I remember sitting in Dr. Freberg’s stratcomm class and hearing her talk about her social media class. It instantly got my attention because how could you now want to take a class about social media? A 21 year old like me practically lives on Twitter, Facebook, Snapchat, and Instagram so I knew I wanted to take the class for Spring semester.  It was the best class I had! The people in the class were all great, sharing ideas and talking about strategies was really fun. I never thought I could find a class so enjoyable until now.

All of the guest speakers were awesome. I particularly liked Maggie Ray, the social media consultant for Churchill Downs and the Kentucky Derby. Obviously, as a horse person, it was my favorite guest lecture because it was all about one of my favorite events. Because of the social media class, I was able to get an internship with Maggie for the Derby in a couple of weeks! I will be in the intern on the backside, covering the event on social media. I’m so beyond excited!

Dr. Freberg is an excellent professor with so much knowledge. Every class I learned something new. I loved the treats we’d often gets, like the stroopwafels! I’ll always think of the class when I see them or eat them in the future.

All in all, I’m so happy I enrolled in Social Media 333. I think the material we covered during the class will stay with me forever as I progress in my education and future career. I hope I can utilize all of the strategies we learned in a real social media job someday and maybe even be a guest lecturer for a class someday!

#DreamBig

xo,

name

Leave a Reply

